3 Tips for the Journey

We are all on a journey which can take us to and through many places.  I don’t know about you but I am still on my journey.  I would like to share 3 tips that have helped me on my journey.

20130314_135448_Android

Tip #1

Journey

Remember that it is your journey and to be aware that some people around you will want to try and hijack it .  What do I mean by that?  We can so often help others on their journey that we forget to move ourselves.  We start by letting them into the proverbial car to help them on their journey and before you know it  you are on their journey and you are either left behind or ‘hijacked’ and taken on theirs.

Remember it is OK to help but let it not be to the detriment of your journey.

“We all want progress, but if you’re on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn, and walking back to the right road; in that case, the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive.”
– C. S. Lewis

Tip #2

Preparation

What do you do to prepare for a journey? The things I do vary depending on the length of the journey.  The first item on the list is to make sure I fill up with fuel.The next item on the list is the sat nav, although I know where I am going it is always worth having in case of a diversion. Last but no means least is coffee and sweets.  If I prepare like this for a fairly regular 4 hour round trip how much more do I need to prepare for a journey that is going to take a lifetime.

On the journey of life there are many ways we can prepare.  We can look at our goals and see what we need to do to achieve them.  For me this has meant reading a lot. When you are dyslexic this has its problems but very beneficial.  For me prayer has been part of my preparation to ensure that my goals are the same as those that Christ has for me.  If you are married and have children they are part of your journey and goals as a family unit, a couple and individually and you prepare differently for each.

A word of warning!!!!!! Do not prepare so much that you stagnate on your journey.

Tip #3

Find a Mentor

A journey is often easier when someone else is with you, may be to share the driving.  When I travel it is generally alone so it can be very monotonous as all you are focused on are the cars in front. Recently I travelled this same journey as the passenger and I was amazed at the things I missed.  Some of it was the gorgeous scenery or the animals in fields, some of it was the businesses along the journey.

This to me is the reason for having a mentor because they are watching you on your journey and can see things that you cannot e.g. a sign post.  Also the person you choose should have already completed that part of the journey and is more familiar with it.  With that in mind they can advise you of any pitfalls they found.  A mentor will also encourage you when you are struggling and dare I say it they will give you the kick in the butt when needed too.

You may be asking if you need a mentor and personally I can say it has helped me. My mentor has encouraged me to be all I can.

Proverbs 27:17

Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.

 

I hope these tips have helped you on your journey.  If you have any other tips you would like to share then feel free to write them in the comments section below.  I would love to hear your thoughts

 

 

One thought on “3 Tips for the Journey

  1. I really enjoyed your blog on journeys proverbs 27 v7 I like a lot every person has a different journey its how we cope with that journey well done SAM xxx

Leave a Reply

