New Year, New Start

Image

Another year started, for some it has been a positive start for others it has been a continuation of the same rubbish from the year before.

When ever I write it is mostly from personal experience and wanting others to learn from the mistakes I have made.  On this occasion I would like to share what I do instead of making new year resolutions. I am sure many of you have made at least one resolution, but have you kept it?  The reason I stopped making resolutions was because every one I made, I broke.  One particular year everything I set as a New Year Resolution failed and this was all I could focus on.  Due to what I saw as a failure it stopped me from doing other things because this was always in the back of my mind.  The following year I decided not to make any and this was possibly the best thing I have ever done.

So what can you do instead?

The way I do it isn’t the only way, there are many so find what works for you but here is my version.  I do not make any hasty decisions  I wait until I have gone back to work which in England is usually Jan 2nd and from there choose which day is going to be my reflective evening.  On the chosen evening I look back at everything I have done over the past year, what worked, what didn’t..I then start to construct and arrange my to do list. For me the to do list has on it EVERYTHING I want to do, this includes books I want to read, blogs and audio books.  It also includes how much I want to write and for when.  I develop the to do list over several days and then schedule  the items into my calender, so this year it has stayed the same except I have now added the gym into the mix and through trial and error I have found that the time on the cross trainer or other cardio machines is a good time to listen to a podcast or a chapter of an audio book.

Some people call this a growth or life plan and there are many out there with templates you can find one at Michael Hyatt.com.  I review my plan a few times a year because there are special projects / key events that may change your plan during the course of the year and it requires items on the to do list to be changed.

One of the key points that came out of  my review was shuffling.  I realised that I was shuffling items in the to do list because I had plenty of time to complete them and ended up with zero time because it had been moved so often.

For me, the key to this working is the fact that it is flexible and it focuses on what works, yes you look at the failures but only focus on them to learn from them.

New Year

Please feel free to share in the comments if you have a different way of applying change

Leave a Reply

