What are you waiting for?

download (1)

In life we seem to wait for so many things and in the process we get very annoyed at waiting because we waste so much time doing it, or do we?

Do you wait or try and fill the time?

I was until recently the sort of person who needed to be doing something all day every day.  If I was in a queue waiting I would send e mails or texts just so I didn’t waste time then one day I realised that the only time I stopped was when I slept.  It wasn’t bad things that filled my day it was work or church but something filled every waking moment, waiting wasn’t an option.

Are you scared of doing nothing the quiet moments?

I was scared of quiet moments or times of waiting as I saw them as a waste of time, then one day I had a lightbulb moment and realised what I was missing.  I was missing that time with Christ in that secret place with Him because I wouldn’t or was too scared to wait.

Do you have a secret place?

You may be asking what a secret place is?  It isn’t somewhere on a fare distant shore but somewhere, where you and Christ can spend time together without worrying about the fact you are waiting on Him, by giving praise or waiting to hear what He has to say to you.  The secret place can be anywhere at anytime.

download 2

What are you waiting for?
I was waiting for God to do something during these quiet moments and it doesn’t happen the way you expect. I was waiting on God to do something but He was waiting on me to do what He last tasked me with.
Is someone waiting on you when you thought you were waiting on them?

The secret place with Christ is a great place to communicate with Him. This is what Mary and Martha did. Martha was so busy she nearly missed what Jesus wanted to say. Mary didn’t want to miss a thing so she waited and listened. Maybe you are waiting on a house or an interview something you have no control over, except to wait in the secret place where Christ can guide you and give you peace to know you have made the right decision.

Waiting brings expectancy.
It doesn’t matter whether you are stood at the bus stop expectant that a bus might turn up. Maybe waiting for a new game for the X Box it evokes a desire.

Does waiting on God evoke the same and better?

I would be interested to hear what you are waiting for?
Feel free to comment below on any of the points raised

Leave a Reply

